Forums » Elder Scrolls

What Song Would You Base a Skyrim Character Build Around?

• 457 posts
    April 25, 2017 9:01 PM EDT

Music Worth Basing a Build Upon

So, the other day I was driving home when The Sound of Winter by Bush made the round on my mp3 player. I’ve heard this song hundreds of times, but I was in a Skyrim-y kind of mood, and for whatever reason thought to myself: “You know, if I were ever to make a cryomancer build, I think I’d link this song to it.” Granted, the song itself has very little to do with cold other than a mention of ‘winter’ in the chorus, but the mention is there and the song has the kind of vibe that I would feel comfortable tacking onto a build… it’s something I’ve done a few times before.

Then I came to a sudden realization: while character building inspiration for me comes from a myriad of sources (events and contests, characters from books, a playstyle or skill that I’ve never used before, TES lore, and even stories from the Vault’s Story Corner), I have never based a build around a song (which is kind of weird because I am easily influenced by music xD).

That got me thinking. If I were to create a character build based around a song, what song would I choose? What kind of build would it be? Immediately, I saw the problem with a question like this--too many songs--my brain would never allow me to sift through them, let alone choose one. But as my mind floated along this current of thought, the next song on my player started:

“There Is a Light” by Nick Cave from the Batman Forever soundtrack.

Maybe it’s the dark feel of the song. Or perhaps it’s the song's connotation and context. Or it might simply be because it was the first song that came on after I asked myself the question, but something struck a chord, and I thought, “This song could make a pretty cool build!” Here is what I would build around the song…

The Beacon