Forums » Elder Scrolls

The Reason Oblivion's Alchemy is better than Skyrim's One

• 113 posts
    March 24, 2016 8:08 AM EDT

Hey people! I'd like to discuss a thing that has been bugging me ever since I started playing Skyrim. So, when I played Oblivion, I absolutely loved Alchemy. In Skyrim? Not so much... The reason - Alchemy Stations. We have to go back and forth between adventures and settlements continiously to get potions/poisons. And these without fast travel? No comment. Wherein oblivion we had an Alembic, Retort, Calcinator, Mortar & Pestle. We had 3 factors to focus when attempting to get better in alchemy - The skill, Intelligence, Getting new versions of the 4 things according to our skill level - novice/apprentice/journeyman/expert/master to upgrade the portable laboratory when necessary. Also, in oblivion, we didn't always have a 100% chance of getting a ingredient from the wilds. The message "You find nothing of use" was common. I find it fairly balanced. Alchemy's cons in Skyrim are greater than the pros. 

However, these are all my opinions. So, what are yours'?

• 649 posts
    March 24, 2016 8:20 AM EDT
    Beside the reasons you just listed Oblivion had much cooler effects you could achieve with Alchemy. As I said in my Alchemy guide for OB, this skill can basicaly replace every school of magic except Conjuration.

So yes, Oblivion Alchemy was badass.

While it isn't really immersive to carry the Alemmbic, Retort and Calcinator everywhere and make potions with it, it was certainly easier.

What I was doing was running around only with Mortar and Pestle, using other tools only at my house or guild. Very immersive that way.
    • 321 posts
    March 24, 2016 8:48 AM EDT

I was surprised at how many equipment there were to increase the potency of potions in Oblivion. So far I keep hoarding restore health/stamina/magicka and poison ingredients but I do like to know if there's an alchemist's guide for Oblivion.