Forums » Elder Scrolls

What do you consider to be the level cap for character builds?

• 9 posts
    April 11, 2015 2:35 PM EDT
    So I know that roleplay builds should 'peak' when the criteria has been met, and I know min/max builds can go forever with legendary skills, but what do you guys think is the best level to consider a balanced build 'done'? Maybe 50? I'm looking for input because I know not everybody has the time (or patience) to level that much.
    (Btw sorry if I messed this up in any way, as I'm new to this and blogs in general)
    • 253 posts
    April 11, 2015 2:39 PM EDT

Honestly it just depends on the build, and when that build is "finished". A lot of builds go to 50 because it is a nice balanced level that allows for everything you want. Some people don't need that much, numerous builds cut off at 40 or 45. Even lower can work if it is for a specific purpose - ie. Alastor's Vancian Wizard is done at 30. Like I said at the beginning, it is just whatever works for the build.

• 485 posts
    April 11, 2015 2:43 PM EDT

Rarely will you ever need to level past 50 to create a balanced build. Those who perk their build past level 50 usually find that they've taken on some needless perks. 

• 9 posts
    April 11, 2015 2:49 PM EDT
    It's a hard transition from the previous two Fallout games where it caps for you, and you could easily max every skill with all the perks you could want.
    • 1483 posts
    April 11, 2015 3:09 PM EDT

I like to end at level 40. Rare of my characters continue past level 40 and if the build doesn't end up at that level I don't find the effort worth it. 

• 9 posts
    April 11, 2015 3:10 PM EDT
    True, but to get extra perks in Skyrim, you would have to max your skills multiple times to earn extra levels.

And by "previous two", I mean Fallout 3 and Fallout New Vegas.
  • Tom
    • 624 posts
    April 11, 2015 3:14 PM EDT

My games don't start until levels 40-50.

• April 11, 2015 3:15 PM EDT